Beijing 2022 Games

Beijing 2022 Factsheets

Beijing 2022 Playbooks

On Dec. 13, the International Olympic Committee, International Paralympic Committee and Beijing 2022 released the second and final version of Games Playbooks for the Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games. Please find the Playbooks for each constituent group below:

Please note the following updates from BOCOG:

  • Following the release of the Playbooks, Beijing 2022 confirmed that individuals with BOCOG-approved medical exemptions will not need to quarantine for 21 days upon arrival in Beijing; instead, they will be able to enter the Closed-Loop Management System upon arrival.
  • Beijing 2022 will consider medical exemptions for athletes and team officials on a case-by-case basis, however, religious exemptions will not be accepted.
  • Applying for a medical exemption to meet the USOPC’s vaccination requirement is a separate process and has no bearing on the exemption process managed by any third party (e.g., the International Olympic Committee, International Paralympic Committee, local organizing committee) in connection with the Beijing Games.

The USOPC is working with Beijing 2022 to learn more about its exemption application process and what the 21-day quarantine will look like upon arrival in Beijing. Please check back here for updates as more information becomes available.

COVID-19 Liason Officers

Every organization taking part in the Olympic and Paralympic Beijing Winter Games will have dedicated COVID-19 Liaison Officers (CLOs) to support the processes and procedures outlined in the Playbooks. Each of the three locations will have a dedicated CLO, as well as a media CLO, to oversee the Team USA delegation in the lead up and for the duration of the Olympic and Paralympic Games. 

Team USA CLOs – Olympic Games 

  • Beijing – Mark Storey 
  • Yanqing – Jen Gallagher 
  • Zhangjiakou – Katie McClosky
  • E-accredited Media – Gwyn McMorris

Team USA CLOs – Paralympic Games

  • Beijing – Alec Hewett 
  • Yanqing – Jen Gallagher 
  • Zhangjiakou – Rachel McKivigan
  • E-accredited Media – Gwyn McMorris

Have a question for the CLOs? Contact CLO2022@usopc.org, addressing which Games you will be attending and which zone you will be residing in.

Sport-Specific CLO Assistants

Please reach out to your sport specific CLO assistant(s) for any questions regarding pre-departure COVID-19 protocols, required documentation, or any questions you may have regarding COVID-19. 

Olympic Games: 

 Sport  CLO Assistant  Contact
 Alpine Skiing   Gillian Bower  gillian.bower@usskiandsnowboard.org 
 No content  Jaron Santelli  jaron.santelli@usskiandsnowboard.org 
 No content  Abbi Sarthou  abbi.sarthou@gmail.com 
 Biathlon  Lowell Bailey  lbailey@usbiathlon.org
 Bobsled
 Hannah Beaumont
 hannah.beaumont@usabs.com
 Curling
 Michael Gulenchyn
 mike.gulenchyn@usacurling.org
 Figure Skating  Kristin Abbott
 kristin.abbott@gmail.com 
 Freestyle Skiing
 Caitlin Dios
 caitlin.dios@usskiandsnowboard.org
 Ice Hockey - Men's   Kelley Olsen  kelley.olsen@usahockey.org 
 No content  Jason Hodges  jasonh@usahockey.org 
 Ice Hockey - Women's  Katie Homan   katie.homan@usahockey.org
 Luge
 Matthew Oakes  Oakcy@hotmail.com
  No content  Justin Harris jut.harris@gmail.com 
 Nordic Combined
 Jedediah Hinkley
 jed@usanordic.org
 Cross Country
 Caitlin Dios
 caitlin.dios@usskiandsnowboard.org
 Skeleton  Hannah Beaumont   hannah.beaumont@usabs.com
 Ski Jumping  Jedediah Hinkley   jed@usanordic.org
 Snowboarding
 Caitlin Dios  caitlin.dios@usskiandsnowboard.org
 Speedskating  Shane Domer   sdomer@usspeedskating.org

Paralympic Games:

 Sport CLO Assistant  Contact
 Para Alpine Skiing  Brennan Rubie   brennan.rubie@usopc.org
 No content  Matt Cramer  mcramer1@gmail.com
 Wheelchair Curling
 Peter Annis
 pete.annis@usacurling.org
 Sled Hockey  Dr. Mike Uihlein   muihlein@mcw.edu
 Para Nordic Skiing
 Erin Popovich  erin.popovich@usopc.org
 No content  Kyle Naggle
 kyle.naggle@seattlechildrens.org
 Para Snowboarding  Jessica Smith   jessica.smith@usopc.org
 No content  Warren Flautt  wflautt11@gmail.com

Previous COVID-19 Infections

If you have previously been infected with COVID-19, please contact your CLO assistant immediately.

Please note, if recovery from COVID-19 is within 30 days of your departure to China, you will be required to obtain two additional negative COVID-19 test results, taken at least 24-hours apart, any time after your recovery.

USOPC Delegation Terms

The U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee Delegation Terms outline the requirements that all U.S. delegates must acknowledge and adhere to as a condition of participation at the Games. Collectively, the U.S. delegation consists of Team USA athletes, coaches, USOPC and National Governing Body staff, executives and volunteers. 

These Terms outline specific USOPC rules related to COVID-19 safety and mitigation among other topics. Please note that by Dec. 1, 2021, all U.S. delegates and hopefuls who are included on the long list for the Beijing Games must have submitted proof of full vaccination to the USOPC or have been granted an exemption to participate at the Beijing Games. For more information on how to submit your vaccine verification or apply for an exemption, visit TeamUSA.org/vaccine

The International Olympic Committee and International Paralympic Committee have ultimate authority in governing the Olympic and Paralympic Games, along with the rules set forth by the Beijing Organizing Committee (BOCOG) and Chinese government for Beijing 2022. 

The rules and requirements outlined by the IOC, IPC and within the Beijing 2022 Playbooks govern all Games participants. The USOPC Delegation Terms do not replace these international rules; rather, they supplement them by better defining the USOPC’s own requirements and commitments.